Go Go Sydney Long Ears!

Sydney Long Ears – NWT's beautiful GoGoHares sculpture, named in memory of the Trust's founder 1/3
Sydney sailing into his summer spot at NWT Ranworth Broad 2/3
This summer’s trail begins on Sunday 24 June 3/3
The Go Go trail animal this year is a hare, a popular subject for artists and regularly seen in the countryside of East Anglia. As well as the trail of 50 city hares in Norwich, there are a further 18 rural ‘moongazer’ hares, and we are delighted to host one at NWT Ranworth Broad. Our hare is sponsored by NWT Investors in Wildlife, Swallowtail Print.

The trail starts on Sunday 24 June and runs until Saturday 8 September. Sydney is at the floating Broads Wildlife Centre, which is accessible either along the boardwalk or via the NWT ferry from Malthouse Staithe. In the centre is a gift shop with refreshments and lots of wildlife information including a webcam on the tern raft. Toilets are back at Malthouse. We run boat trips from the centre too, the perfect way to discover the wildlife at home on Ranworth Broad. Please note: dogs are not allowed at the Ranworth Broad nature reserve, sorry for any disappointment.

“Sydney Long Ears” is named after our founder Dr Sydney Long, who led a group of 12 friends in 1926 to purchase Cley Marshes and protect it “in perpetuity”. The hare is painted with a map of the Bure Valley Living Landscape, a landscape of wildlife-rich broads, marshes, fens, reedbeds and damp woodland.

From its earliest days led by Sydney Long, the Trust has striven to secure precious fragments of habitat in an increasingly developed Norfolk and to connect nature reserves to maintain thriving landscapes. The Bure Valley Living Landscape now covers more than 10,000 hectares, including some of the finest wildlife sites in the country.

Follow @sydneylongears on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram  #GGH18

Join us at an event at Ranworth this summer!

2019-04-19 Easter Egg-venture Trail - Ran Easter Egg-venture Trail - Ranworth Broad
Fri 19 Apr, 2019 - Mon 22 Apr 2019
2019-04-24 Ranworth Ramble Ranworth Ramble
Wed 24 Apr, 2019
2019-04-26 Ranworth Flora Walk Ranworth Flora Walk
Fri 26 Apr, 2019
2019-04-29 Birds of Ranworth Walk Birds of Ranworth Walk
Mon 29 Apr, 2019
2019-05-08 Ranworth Ramble Ranworth Ramble
Wed 08 May, 2019
2019-05-10 Ranworth Flora Walk Ranworth Flora Walk
Fri 10 May, 2019
2019-05-13 Birds of Ranworth Walk Birds of Ranworth Walk
Mon 13 May, 2019
2019-05-21 Ranworth Flora Walk Ranworth Flora Walk
Tue 21 May, 2019
2019-05-22 Ranworth Ramble Ranworth Ramble
Wed 22 May, 2019
2019-05-27 Birds of Ranworth Walk Birds of Ranworth Walk
Mon 27 May, 2019
2019-06-05 Ranworth Ramble Ranworth Ramble
Wed 05 Jun, 2019
2019-06-10 Birds of Ranworth Walk Birds of Ranworth Walk
Mon 10 Jun, 2019
2019-06-14 Ranworth Flora Walk Ranworth Flora Walk
Fri 14 Jun, 2019
2019-06-19 Ranworth Ramble Ranworth Ramble
Wed 19 Jun, 2019
2019-06-24 Birds of Ranworth Walk Birds of Ranworth Walk
Mon 24 Jun, 2019
2019-06-28 Ranworth Flora Walk Ranworth Flora Walk
Fri 28 Jun, 2019
2019-07-10 Ranworth Ramble Ranworth Ramble
Wed 10 Jul, 2019
2019-07-24 Ranworth Ramble Ranworth Ramble
Wed 24 Jul, 2019